Mr. Hogg.

MAURICEVILLE COUNTY.

[Local Bill.]

ANALYSIS.

1. Short Title.

2. Constitution of Mauriceville County.

3. Jurisdiction of County Council.

A BILL INTITULED

An Acr to constitute the Mauriceville County.

Title.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as

1. The Short Title of this Act is "The Mauriceville County Short Title.

Act, 1899."

2. The Mauriceville Road District is hereby abolished, and in Constitution of lieu thereof the Mauriceville County is hereby constituted, and shall Mauriceville 10 comprise that portion of the Wairarapa North County particularly described in the Schedule hereto; and the boundaries of the Wairarapa North County are hereby altered accordingly. And the said Mauriceville Road District shall be deemed to be merged in the Mauriceville County hereby constituted.

3. From and after the coming into operation of this Act, and Jurisdiction of during the existence of the county hereby constituted, no local body or authority other than the County Council shall, within the limits of the said county, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads, or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of 20 which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under the provisions of "The Counties Act, 1886," or any amendment thereof, or otherwise.

County Council.

SCHEDULE.

Schedule.

MAURICEVILLE COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District bounded towards the north generally by the Eketahuna County as described in the Schedule to "The Eketahuna County Act, 1898," from the summit of the Tararua Range to the westernmost corner of Section No. 30 (E.R.), Block XV., Mangaone Survey District; thence by that section and Sections Nos. 10, 11, 12, 13, and 16 of the said Block XV. to Barton's Roadline; thence by the said Barton's Line to the westernmost corner of Section No. 86, Block XVI., Mangaone Survey District; thence by that section and Section No. 87 of the said Block XVI., and by Sections Nos. 88 and 16, Block IV., Kopuaranga Survey District, to the southernmost corner of the last-mentioned section

No. 93—2.

thence towards the south-east generally by Section No. 22, Block I., Mangapakeha Survey District, Sections Nos. 21, 20, and 19, Block IV., Kopuaranga Survey District, and Section No. 138, Block VIII., to the road forming the western boundary of that section; thence by that road and Sections Nos. 109, 110, 111, and 112, Block VII., Kopuaranga Survey District, to Cleland's Road; thence across that road and by Lot No. 3 of Section No. 118, Block VII. aforesaid, to the north-eastern boundary-line of Section No 210; thence towards the south generally by Sections Nos. 210, 114, and 113 of the said Block VII. to the Wangaehu Valley Road; thence by that road to the northern boundary-line of Section No. 52, Block VI., Kopuaranga Survey District; thence by Sections Nos. 52 and 42 of the said Block VI. to Stuckey Road; thence by that road to the northern boundary-line of Section No. 44, Block II.; thence by the last-mentioned section and Section No. 43, Block VI., and by Sections Nos. 99, 98, 97, and 51, Block V., and the northern boundary-line of the last mentioned-section produced to the middle of the Kopuaranga River; thence by a line along the middle of the said Kopuaranga River to a point in line with the northern boundary-line of Section No. 70 of the said Block V.; thence by a right line to and by that boundary-line, a public road, and Sections Nos. 27 and 69 of the said Block V., Kopuaranga Survey District; then towards the south-west generally by Sections Nos. 32 and 71, Block VIII., Mikimiki Survey District, and the north-western boundary-line of the last-mentioned section produced to the middle of the Ruamahanga River; thence by a line along the middle of the said Ruamahanga River to the head of the river bend, northern part of Section No. 77, to a point in line with the north-west boundary-line of Section No. 9, Block IV., Mikimiki Survey District; thence by a right line bearing north 48° west, 180 chains to the westernmost corner of that section; thence by the north-western boundary-line of Section No. 9 aforesaid to the summit of the Tawera Range; thence by the summit of that range to Tawera Trig. Station; thence by a right line bearing north 63° west to the summit of the Tararua Range, being the eastern boundary of the Horowhenua County; and thence towards the west generally by the summit of the said Tararua Range, to the place of commencement.

By Authority: JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer, Wellington.—1809.