Mr. McCombs.

LYTTELTON HARBOUR BOARD.

[LOCAL BILL.]

ANALYSIS.

A BILL INTITULED

AN ACT to reconstitute the Lyttelton Harbour Board. Title. BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority

5 of the same, as follows:-

 ± 5

1. This Act may be cited as the Lyttelton Harbour Short Title. Board Act, 1936.

2. This Act shall be deemed to be a special Act Special Act. within the meaning of the Harbours Act, 1923.

10 3. As from the date of the next ensuing triennial Constitution election of members of local bodies in the Lyttelton df Lyttelton Harbour Board Harbour District, and for the purposes of the said altered. election and subsequent elections, the constitution of the Lyttelton Harbour Board (hereinafter referred

- 15 to as the Board) shall be as follows: The Board shall consist of fourteen members in all. One member of the Board shall be appointed from time to time by the Governor-General. Five members of the Board shall be elected by the electors of the City of Christchurch
- 20 and the Borough of Riccarton; one by the electors of

No. 21-1.

the County of Waimairi and the Borough of New Brighton; one by the electors of the Borough of Sumner and the counties of Heathcote and Halswell; one by the electors of the boroughs of Lyttelton and Akaroa and the counties of Mount Herbert, Akaroa, Waiwera, 5 and Ellesmere and of the Leeston Town District; one by the electors of the counties of Selwyn, Springs, Tawera, and Malvern and of the South Rakaia and Mount Somers Ridings of the County of Ashburton; one by the electors of the Borough of Ashburton and 10 of the Mount Hutt, Wakanui, Anama, Upper Ashburton, Coldstream, Rangitata, and Longbeach Ridings of the County of Ashburton; one by the electors of the boroughs of Kaiapoi and Rangiora and of the counties of Rangiora, Eyre, and Oxford; one by the electors of 15 the counties of Ashley, Kowai, Waipara. Cheviot, and Amuri and of the Amberley Town District.

4. The present members of the Board shall continue in office until the election referred to in the *last preceding* section hereof. 20

5. For the purposes of this Act the term "electors" shall mean and include all persons included in the definition of "electors" as provided by the Electoral Act, 1927.

6. No elector shall be entitled to vote at any election 25 under this Act at any polling-place not in the city, county, borough, or town district in which he resides, or in which the property for which he is registered as an elector is situate.

7. The reference to the Lyttelton Harbour Board in 30 the First Schedule to the Harbours Act, 1923, is hereby repealed.

By Authority : G. H. LONEY, Government Printer, Wellington.-1936.

 $\{0\}$

 $\sum_{i=1}^{n}$

20-

Term of office of present Board.

Elections to be on parliamentary franchise.

Each elector to vote in district in which he projecty is situate.

Repeal.

2