44

[As reported from the Local Bills Committee, 13th Sept., 1898.]

Mr. Hogg.

EKETAHUNA COUNTY.

[LOCAL BILL.]

ANALYSIS.

Title. 1. Short Title. 2. Constitution of Eketahuna County. 3. Jurisdiction of County Council.

A BILL INTITULED

An Acr to constitute the Eketahuna County.

Title.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as fol-5 lows:-

1. The Short Title of this Act is "The Eketahuna County Act, Short Title. 1898."

2. The Eketahuna County is hereby constituted, and shall Constitution of comprise that portion of the Wairarapa North County particularly Eketahuna County. 10 described in the Schedule hereto; and the boundaries of the Wairarapa North County are hereby altered accordingly.

3. From and after the coming into operation of this Act, and Jurisdiction of during the subsistence of the county hereby constituted, no local body or authority other than the County Council shall, within

15 the limits of the said county, be created or exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads, or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under the provisions of "The Counties Act, 1886," or any amendment thereof, or otherwise.

County Council.

Struck out.

SCHEDULE.

Schedule.

ALL that area in the County of Wairarapa North comprised in the Eketahuna Road District, Alfredton Riding Outlying District, and Akitio Road District, as existing at the end of June, 1898, commencing at Arawaru Trig. Station, and going easterly Bounded generally towards the north and north-west by the Pahiatua County, and again towards the north by the Hawke's Bay Provincial District; towards the east by the sea; towards the south by the Castlepoint, Upper Taueru, and Mauriceville Road Districts; towards the west by the Wirokino Road District and Orona County to the point of commencement.

No. 88-2.

New Schedule. SCHEDULE.

ALL that area in the County of Wairarapa North comprised in the Eketahuna Road District, bounded towards the north-east generally by Pahiatua County, as described in the Schedule to "The Counties Act Amendment Act, 1888," from Arawaru Trig. Station to the western boundary-line of Section No. 175, Block VIII., Mangaone Survey District: thence towards the south-east generally by Sections Nos. 175 and 174, Block VIII. aforesaid, and the Pa Valley Road to the northern boundary-line of Section No. 213, Block XII.; thence by Sections Nos. 213 and 212, Block XII. aforesaid, Section No. 31, Block VII., and the road forming the south-western boundary of Section No. 30, by Sections Nos. 42 and 43, Block VII. aforesaid, Sections Nos. 7, 8, 9, and 10, Block XI., a public road, and by Sections Nos. 26, 27, 45, and 46, Block XI. aforesaid, by Sections Nos. 30 and 26, Block XV., and Section No. 77, Block XIV., Mangaone Survey District, to a public road: thence towards the south generally by the road forming the eastern boundaries of Sections Nos. 67 and 68, Block XIV. aforesaid; thence by the last-mentioned section and the road forming the eastern boundary of Section No. 140; thence by Sections Nos. 140 and 135, Block XIV. aforesaid, the crossing of a road, and by Section No. 132, Block XIII., Mangaone Survey District, the crossing of a road, and by the southern boundary-line of Section No. 148, Block IX., Mangaone Survey District, and that boundary-line produced to the middle of the Makakahi River; thence by a line along the middle of that river to a point in line with the western boundary-line of Section No. 21, Block XIV., Tararua Survey District: thence towards the south-west by a right line bearing 295° 30' magnetic to the eastern boundary of the Horowhenua County on the summit of the Tararua Range: and thence towards the north-westgenerally by the summit of the Tararua Range to Arawaru Trig. Station, the place of commencement.

By Authority: John Mackay, Government Printer, Wellington.-1898.