### Hon. Mr. Cullen

### DAIRY-PRODUCE AMENDMENT

#### ANALYSIS

5. First election and first meeting of reconstituted Board. Repeal. mending provisions as to quorum of Board. Title. 6. Amending 1. Short Title. 2. Reconstitution of New Zealand 7. Repeals. Dairy Board. 8. Amending provisions as to exer-3. Term of office of members.
4. Wards for election of elective cise of functions of the Board. Schedule. members.

#### A BILL INTITULED

An Acr to Amend the Dairy-produce Act, 1923. Title. BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority 5 of the same, as follows:—

1. This Act may be cited as the Dairy-produce short Title. Amendment Act, 1948, and shall be read together with and deemed part of the Dairy-produce Act, 1923.

See Reprint of Statutes, Vol. VIII, p. 659

- 2. (1) On the thirtieth day of June, nineteen Reconstitution 10 hundred and forty-nine, the members of the New Zealand Dairy Board (hereinafter referred to as the Board. Board) then in office shall go out of office and thereafter the Board shall consist of eight members appointed or elected as follows:—
- 15 (a) One member to be appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister of Agriculture:

No. 52—1

of New Zealand Dairy (b) Five members, of whom one shall be elected for each of the wards constituted by section four of this Act by the companies being owners or occupiers of dairy factories situated within the said wards respectively, exclusive of the New Zealand Co-operative Dairy Company, Limited:

(c) Two members to be appointed by the New Zealand Co-operative Dairy Company,

Limited.

(2) For the purposes of this section and of section twenty of the Agriculture (Emergency Powers) Act, 1934, the term "company" includes any person or association of persons, whether incorporated or not.

Term of office of members.

1934, No. 34

**3.** (1) With respect to the first members of the 15 Board appointed or elected under the last preceding section the following provisions shall apply:—

(a) They shall come into office on the date of their appointment or election, as the case may be, or on the first day of July, nineteen hundred 20 and forty-nine (whichever date is the later):

(b) Two members shall retire on the thirtieth day of June in each of the years nineteen hundred and fifty, nineteen hundred and fifty-one, nineteen hundred and fifty-two, and nineteen 25 hundred and fifty-three:

(c) The Board shall determine by lot the members to retire in any year.

(2) Except as provided in the last preceding subsection, every member of the Board shall hold office 30 for a term of four years.

(3) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this Act, every member of the Board, unless he sooner vacates his office, shall continue in office until his successor comes into office.

**4.** For the purposes of the election of the elective members of the Board as reconstituted under this Act. New Zealand is hereby divided into five wards having the names and boundaries set out in the Schedule to this Act.

Wards for election of elective members.

35

40

10

5. (1) The first election of the elective members of First election the Board as reconstituted under this Act shall be and first meeting of held during the month of June, nineteen hundred and reconstituted forty-nine.

- 5 (2) The first meeting of the Board as so reconstituted shall be called by the Minister of Agriculture and shall be held on the second Wednesday in July, nineteen hundred and forty-nine.
- (3) Section twenty-one of the Agriculture (Emer- 1934, No. 34 10 gency Powers) Act, 1934, is hereby amended as follows:-

(a) By repealing subsection one:

15

Repeal.

- (b) By omitting from subsection two the words "Except as provided in the last preceding subsection ".
- 6. (1) Section twenty-one of the Agriculture (Emer-Amending gency Powers) Act, 1934, as amended by subsection five provisions as of section twenty-eight of the Marketing Act, 1936, is Board. hereby further amended by omitting from subsection 1934, No. 34 20 four the word "three", and substituting the word 1936, No. 5 " four ".

(2) This section shall come into force on the first day of July, nineteen hundred and forty-nine.

7. (1) Sections thirteen, fifteen, and eighteen of the Repeals. 25 Agriculture (Emergency Powers) Act, 1934, and 1934, No. 34 section twenty-eight of the Marketing Act, 1936, are 1936, No. 5 hereby consequentially repealed.

(2) This section shall come into force on the first day of July, nineteen hundred and forty-nine.

8. (1) Section twenty-nine of the Marketing Act, Amending 30 1936, is hereby amended by omitting from subsection provisions as two, and also from subsection three, the word "Minis-functions of ter" wherever it occurs, and substituting in each case the Board. the words "Minister of Agriculture".

(2) Section eleven of the Finance Act, 1939, is 1939, No. 3 35 hereby amended by omitting the words "Minister of Marketing ", and substituting the words "Minister of Agriculture ".

Schedule.

# Section 4

### SCHEDULE

# NAMES AND BOUNDARIES OF WARDS

Name of Ward.	Definition of Boundaries.
Northern Ward	All that portion of the North Auckland Land District lying northwards of the southern boundary of the County of Waitemata.
South Auckland Ward	All that portion of the North Auckland Land District not included in the Northern Ward, the whole of the Auckland Land District (with the exception of that part of the County of Waitomo lying within ten miles from the right bank of the mouth of the Mokau River), the whole of the Gisborne Land District, that part of the County of Wairoa which does not lie within the Gisborne Land District, and the whole of the Counties of Ohura and Kaitieke.
Taranaki Ward	The whole of the Taranaki Land District with the exception of the County of Ohura, together with that portion of the County of Waitomo not included in the South Auckland Ward.
Wellington Ward	The whole of the Wellington Land District (with the exception of the County of Kaitieke and the Chatham Islands), together with the whole of the Hawke's Bay Land District (with the exception of that part of the County of Wairoa included in that District), the Marlborough Land District, and the Nelson Land District with the exception of the Counties of Buller and Inangahua
Southern Ward	That portion of the South Island of New Zealand which is not included in the Wellington Ward, together with Stewart Island and the Chatham Islands.