New Zealand.



ANALYSIS.

- Title.
 1. Short Title.
- 2. Constitution of new county.
 3. Jurisdiction of new County Council.
- 4. Names of old county and new county.
- 5. Road districts merged. Jurisdiction of the Councils of both counties.
- 6. Constitution of Waipawa Hospital Board. Arrangements as to Hawke's Bay United Charitable Aid Board.
- 7. Waipukurau County Act modified.
- 8. Commencement of Act. Schedules.

1907, No. 23.—Local.

Title.

An Act to constitute Part of the Waipawa County a New County. [23rd November, 1907.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

Short Title.

Constitution of new county.

- 1. This Act may be cited as the Waipawa County Act, 1907.
- 2. (1.) A new county is hereby constituted, comprising the portion of the Waipawa County described in the First Schedule hereto.
- (2.) The boundaries of the Waipawa County so altered are those described in the Second Schedule hereto.

Jurisdiction of new County Council.

3. The area described in the Second Schedule hereto shall be named the Dannevirke County, and the area described in the First Schedule hereto shall be named the Waipawa County.

Names of old county and new county.

4. All road districts within either of the said counties are hereby abolished, and shall be deemed to be merged in the county within which they are situate, and the provisions of section fiftyseven of the Counties Act, 1886, shall apply accordingly.

Road districts merged.

5. (1.) On and after the coming into operation of this Act no local authority other than the County Council shall, within or with respect to either of the said counties, exercise any jurisdiction or authority conferred on County Councils by any Act.

Jurisdiction of the Councils of both counties.

(2.) Until the first Council of the new Waipawa County comes into office, any power given to County Councils may be exercised within or with respect to the county hereby constituted by the Governor.

Constitution of Waipawa Hospital

6. (1.) Paragraph (4) of section eight of the Hospitals and Charitable Institutions Act, 1885, is hereby repealed, and in lieu thereof it is enacted that the District Board for the District of Waipawa shall, until the next apportionment of representation is made by the Governor in Council, be constituted as follows:—

Woodville County shall return one member;

Woodville Borough shall return one member;

Patangata County shall return two members;

Weber County shall return one member;

Waipukurau County shall return one member;

Waipawa County shall return two members;

Dannevirke County shall return two members; and

Dannevirke Borough shall return one member.

(2.) The three members now representing the Waipawa County Arrangements as to on the Hawke's Bay United Charitable Aid Board shall hold office United Charitable until a day to be fixed by the Governor by notice in the Gazette, Aid Board. being not later than the thirtieth day of April, nineteen hundred and eight, and on the day so fixed the said members shall cease to hold office.

- (3.) On or before the day so fixed the Waipawa County, the Dannevirke County, and the Waipukurau County shall each elect one member of the said Board, who shall come into office on the day so fixed, and shall hold office until the election of their successors in the manner provided by the Hospitals and Charitable Institutions Act, 1885.
- 7. Section two of the Waipukurau County Act, 1907, shall be Waipukurau County read subject to the provisions of this Act.
- 8. This Act shall come into operation on the first day of April, Commencement of nineteen hundred and eight.

SCHEDULES.

Schedules.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE WAIPAWA COUNTY.

ALL that area in the Hawke's Bay Land District, bounded towards the north generally by the Hawke's Bay County, as described in the New Zealand Gazette No. 73, of the 1st September, 1904, from the summit of the Ruahine Range to the middle of the Waipawa-Te Aute Road; thence towards the east generally by the Patangata County, as described in the New Zealand Gazette No. 92, of the 1st November, 1906, to the middle of the Tukituki River; thence by a line along the middle of the said Tukituki River to a point in line with the eastern boundary of the Town District of Waipukurau, as described in the New Zealand Gazette No. 95, of the 2nd November, 1905; thence by a right line to the north-eastern corner of that town district; thence by the right bank of the Tukituki River to its confluence with the Makaretu River; thence by the right bank of the Makaretu River to the Maharakeke Stream; thence by a line along the middle of the Maharakeke Stream, the western boundary of Section No. 9, Block VIII, Takapau Survey District, and again by the Maharakeke Stream to the northern boundary of Block 83; thence by part of the northern boundary of the said Block 83 to the north-eastern corner of Section No. 1, Block XI, Takapau Survey District; thence by the northern and north-western boundaries of the last-mentioned section to the Mangapurakau Stream; thence towards the south generally by a line along the middle of the Mangapurakau Stream to its confluence with the Waikopiro Stream; thence by a line along the middle of the Waikopiro Stream to the Manawatu River; thence by a

line along the middle of the Manawatu River to the main Norsewood-Takapau Road; thence along the middle of the last-mentioned road to its junction with the old Norsewood-Takapau Road; thence by a line running due north to the Makaretu River; thence by a line along the middle of the Makaretu River to its source; thence by a line running due west to the summit of the Ruahine Range; and thence towards the west by the summit of the Ruahine Range to the place of commencement: excluding the Waipawa Town District.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

Boundaries of the Dannevirke County.

ALL that area in the Hawke's Bay Land District, bounded towards the north generally by the Waipawa County, as described in the First Schedule hereto, from the summit of the Ruahine Range to the Mangapurakau Stream; thence by a line along the middle of the Mangapurakau Stream, the southern boundary of Block 83, and a line along the middle of the Whatatuna Stream to its confluence with the Tauraekaitai Stream; thence towards the east generally by the Patangata County, as described in the New Zealand Gazette No. 92, of the 1st November, 1906, to Weber County, as described in the Schedule to the Weber County Act, 1902; thence towards the south generally by the said Weber County to the north-eastern corner of Pahiatua County, as described in the Schedule to the Counties Act Amendment Act, 1888; thence by the said Pahiatua County to the south-eastern corner of Woodville County, as described in the Schedule to the Woodville County Act 1901; thence towards the west and south-west by the said Woodville County to the summit of the Ruahine Range; and thence again towards the west generally by a line along the summit of the said Ruahine Range to the place of commencement: excluding the Borough of Dannevirke.

WELLINGTON: Printed under authority of the New Zealand Government, by John Mackay, Government Printer.—1907.