New Zealand.



Title.

- 1. Short Title.
- 2. Special Act.
- 3. Interpretation.
- 4. Harbour district. Repeal.
- 5. Constitution of Board.

ANALYSIS.

- 6. Election of new Board.
- 7. Vesting foreshore.
- 8. Issue of Crown grants or certificates of title to Board. Schedule.

1917, No. 3.—Local and Personal.

An Act to extend the Tauranga Harbour District and vest Part Title. of the Foreshore in the Board. [27th October, 1917.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

- 1. This Act may be cited as the Tauranga Harbour Amendment Short Title. and Foreshore Vesting Act, 1917.
- 2. This Act shall be deemed to be a special Act within the Special Act. meaning of the Harbours Amendment Act, 1910.
 - 3. In this Act, if not inconsistent with the context,—

Interpretation.

- "The Board" means the Tauranga Harbour Board:
- "The harbour district" means the Tauranga Harbour District as constituted by this Act:
- "The Tauranga Harbour" means the harbour as defined in the Tauranga Harbour Act, 1912.
- 4. (1.) The Tauranga Harbour District is hereby extended so as Harbour district. to comprise the Borough and County of Tauranga and the Te Puke Town District, the Matata Riding of the County of Whakatane, the County of Rotorua, and the Town of Rotorua.

(2.) Section four of the Tauranga Harbour Act, 1912, is hereby Repeal.

repealed.

5. (1.) The Board shall consist of ten members, of whom five Constitution shall form a quorum, and such members shall be appointed and of Board. elected as follows:—

One member to be elected by the electors of the Borough of Tauranga, and two members to be elected by the electors of the Waimapu, Te Puna, and Katikati Ridings of the County of Tauranga:

- Two members to be elected by the electors of the Maketu and Te Puke Ridings of the County of Tauranga, and the electors of the Te Puke Town District:
- One member to be elected by the electors of the Matata Riding of the County of Whakatane:
- One member to be elected by the electors of the County of Rotorua:
- One member to be elected by the ratepayers of the Town of Rotorua:

Two members to be appointed by the Governor-General.

(2.) Section five of the Tauranga Harbour Act, 1912, is hereby

repealed.

- 6. (1.) The Governor-General in Council shall appoint a day for the first election of the elective members of the newly constituted Board, and shall make all such regulations as he thinks necessary for such election. In the absence of such regulations, or in so far as they do not extend, the provisions of the Harbours Amendment Act, 1910, and the regulations thereunder, relating to the election of members of Harbour Boards shall apply to elections under this section.
- (2.) The Governor-General in Council shall fix a time and place for the first meeting of the newly constituted Board, and until such meeting the members of the existing Board shall continue to hold office, and may exercise all the powers of the Board.

(3.) The members appointed by the Governor-General shall come into office on the day appointed under this section for the first meeting of the Board.

(4.) Section six of the Tauranga Harbour Act, 1912, is hereby

repealed.

7. On the passing of this Act the whole of the foreshore of the Tauranga Harbour as described in the Schedule hereto shall vest in the Tauranga Harbour Board, subject to the right of resumption by the Crown hereinafter mentioned.

8. The Governor-General is hereby empowered to sign a Warrant or Warrants authorizing the issue of Crown grants or certificates of title, as the case may require, for the said foreshore and lands, or any part thereof, to and in favour of the Board:

Provided that any portion of the said foreshore so vested as aforesaid may be resumed by the Crown at any time for any public work or public purpose without compensation, except that compensation shall be payable and assessed in manner provided by the Public Works Act, 1908, for wharves, buildings, or permanent improvements made and effected by the Board or any lessee on any of the lands so resumed.

Vesting foreshore.

Election of new

Board.

Issue of Crown grants or certificates of title to Board.

Schedule.

SCHEDULE.

ALL the foreshore of the Tauranga Harbour, commencing at the Katikati entrance opposite North Head, and thence following Matakana Island to the Tauranga entrance opposite the Beacon Rock, as shown on the plan deposited in the office of the Chief Surveyor at Auckland as No. 19549 (blue), and thereon edged blue.