

 Title.
 ANALYSIS.

 1. Short Title.
 3. Jurisdiction of County Council.

 2. Constitution of Featherston County.
 Schedule.

1901, No. 10.—Local.

An Act to constitute the Featherston County.

[2nd November, 1901.

BE IT ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows :—

1. The Short Title of this Act is "The Featherston County Act, 1901."

2. The Featherston Road District is hereby abolished, and in lieu thereof the Featherston County is hereby constituted, and shall comprise the Featherston Road District, particularly described in the Schedule hereto. The boundaries of the South Wairarapa County are hereby altered accordingly, and the said Featherston Road District shall be deemed to be merged in the Featherston County hereby constituted.

3. From and after the coming into operation of this Act, and during the existence of the county hereby constituted, no local body or authority other than the County Council shall, within the limits of the said county, exercise any jurisdiction or authority over any roads, or over or in relation to any matter or thing in respect of which jurisdiction is conferred upon a County Council under the provisions of "The Counties Act, 1886," or any amendments thereof, or otherwise.

SCHEDULE.

ALL that area in the Land District of Wellington bounded on the north-east by the Waiuru Stream, from its mouth to its intersection by the production of the northern boundary-line of Section No. 6, Block VI., Mount Adams Survey District; thence by the said production and the said northern boundary-line of Section No. 6 and the northern boundary-line of Section No. 7 to the south-eastern corner of Section No. 212, Block VI., Mount Adams Survey District: thence towards the east by the eastern boundary-line of Section No. 212 aforesaid, part of the southern and the whole of the eastern boundary-lines of Section No. 229; the eastern and northern boundary-

Title.

Short Title.

Constitution of Featherston County.

Jurisdiction of County Council.

Schedule.

lines of Section No. 228, by part of the eastern boundary-line of Section No. 206, by the eastern boundary-line of Section No. 203, Block II., Mount Adams Survey District, by the eastern boundaries of Sections Nos. 201, 302, and 301, by the northeastern boundary-line of the said Section No. 301 and its production to the middle of the Pahaoa River; thence by a line along the middle of that river to the production of the western boundary-line of Section No. 292, Block XI., Wainuioru Survey District; thence by the said production and by part of the said western boundaryline of Section No. 292 to the south-eastern corner of Section No. 291; thence by the said Section No. 291 and Section No. 286A to the middle of the road at the northern boundary of the last-mentioned section; thence by a line along the middle of the said road to where it is intersected by the northern boundary-line of Section No. 259, Block X., Wainuioru Survey District; thence by the northern boundary-line of the said Section No. 259 to the southern corner of Section No. 237: thence again towards the north-east generally by the north-east boundary-lines of Sections Nos. 259, 258, 257, and 254, all of the Wainuioru Survey District, to the Wainuioru River; thence by a right line to the trig. station known as Maungariki; thence by a right line to the north-east corner of Section No. 40, Ahiaruhe Block, Huangaroa Survey District; thence by the northern boundary-lines of Sections Nos. 40, 38, 61, 60, 58, and 56, to the Pohaturiki Stream; thence by that stream to its confluence with the Ruamahunga River; thence by that river to its confluence with the Waiohene River; thence by that river to its source: thence towards the north-west by the Hutt County to Turakirae Head, in Cook Strait : and thence towards the south-west and again towards the south-east by Cook Strait and the ocean to the place of commencement : excepting from the above-described area the Borough of Greytown.

> WELLINGTON: Printed under authority of the New Zealand Government, by JOHN MACKAY, Government Printer.—1901.