

Commonwealth Countries (Membership) Order 2012

Jerry Mateparae, Governor-General

Order in Council

At Wellington this 23rd day of October 2012

Present:

His Excellency the Governor-General in Council

Pursuant to section 2 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council, makes the following order.

Contents

		Page
1	Title	1
2	Commencement	2
3	Schedule 1 of Commonwealth Countries Act 1977 amended	2

Order

1 Title

This order is the Commonwealth Countries (Membership) Order 2012.

2 Commencement

- (1) Clause 3(1) is deemed to have come into force on 1 January 1984
- (2) Clause 3(2) is deemed to have come into force on 1 November 1995.
- (3) Clause 3(3) is deemed to have come into force on 9 July 1982.
- (4) Clause 3(4) is deemed to have come into force on 13 November 1995.
- (5) Clause 3(5) is deemed to have come into force on 21 March 1990.
- (6) Clause 3(6) is deemed to have come into force on 1 October 1989.
- (7) Clause 3(7) is deemed to have come into force on 29 November 2009.
- (8) Clause 3(8) is deemed to have come into force on 4 July 1997.
- (9) Clause 3(9) is deemed to have come into force on 19 September 1983.
- (10) Clause 3(10) is deemed to have come into force on 1 June 1994.
- (11) Clause 3(11) is deemed to have come into force on 7 December 2003.

3 Schedule 1 of Commonwealth Countries Act 1977 amended

- (1) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Brunei Darussalam".
- (2) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Cameroon".
- (3) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Maldives".
- (4) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Mozambique".
- (5) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Namibia".
- (6) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Pakistan".

- (7) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Rwanda".
- (8) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977,—
 - (a) repeal the item relating to Western Samoa; and
 - (b) insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "Samoa".
- (9) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "St Kitts & Nevis".
- (10) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, insert in its appropriate alphabetical order "South Africa".
- (11) In Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977, repeal the item relating to Zimbabwe.

Michael Webster, for Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the order, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This order adds Brunei Darussalam, Cameroon, Maldives, Mozambique, Namibia, Pakistan, Rwanda, St Kitts & Nevis, and South Africa to the list of countries that are Commonwealth countries in Schedule 1 of the Commonwealth Countries Act 1977. The order also updates Samoa's name, which changed from Western Samoa in 1997, and removes Zimbabwe from the list of countries that are Commonwealth countries following Zimbabwe's withdrawal from the Commonwealth countries are deemed to have come into force on the date the country changed its name (in the case of Samoa) or the date the relevant country joined, was readmitted to, or withdrew from the Commonwealth.

Commonwealth Countries (Membership) Order 2012

2012/317

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 25 October 2012. This order is administered by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.